Archive for March 27th, 2012

March 27, 2012

Little pots of paint

We are currently planning with military precision what furniture/ stuff will fit into our new 12ft home, I have been relishing in the downsize, ruthlessly editing my possessions and donating bag after bag to the local Oxfam, However I cannot quash my nesting tendencies, whatever size the nest may be. The other day I found myself buying some pretty green stemmed wine glasses from a charity shop (even though we have some perfectly functional ones already) and, inexplicably, three embroidered linen tablecloths have made the cut (THREE? In a forest?) These tendencies can also lead to painting furniture with little tester pots of paint. For our tiny new home I decided to brighten up some of the bits of furniture we’ll be taking;

This Chest of drawers is from Ikea for only £15.99, I chose to paint it my favorite of all colour combinations; Yellow and Grey. I used ‘Hustle at 5pm’ and  ‘Plumbago’  by Fired Earth.

This little wicker beauty was picked up in a charity shop and painted by my Mum, I spruced it up further by painting the inside with ‘Southbank’ Orange by Fired Earth and adding a vintage place mat.