In Love with Leatherwork

Last weekend I was lucky enough to do a leatherwork course with the wonderful leatherworker, green woodworker and all round crafty chap Rob Exton. I learned SO much (30+ skills and techniques) and produced some lovely leather items including a purse, knife sheath and moulded blessing bowl. It was genuinly one of the best things I have ever done and I have well and truly got the leather bug, I loved all the processes from tanning to moulding and most of all the glorious sadle stitch. I am currently making a simple over the shoulder bag which is Very exciting.

Practicing sadle stitch

Bag – WIP

In June I am going on a basketmaking course, which I am also VERY excited about. Traditional crafts like basketmaking and leatherwork have always been intrinsically linked with rural living and they are being kept alive by a small core of  skilled passionate craftspeople. I feel extremely lucky to be learning these skills and I hope to perfect them over the coming months and hopefully become a leather working, basket making ninja. Watch this space!

*For more information on Rob’s courses and projects visit his website

5 Comments to “In Love with Leatherwork”

  1. I really want that little purse and that Leaf is bloody AMAZING!!!! I want them now!!!! You could place your jewellery in the leaf. By the way you look lovely in your outfit and I have cardi envy right now. The setting looks very lovely too, like being Robin Hood.

  2. gorgeous. i played a bit with leather in my BFA days doing bookbinding. never really made anything sculptural. looks like it was tons of fun.

  3. YES!!! I love this! I love the bag and the leaf is just beautiful! Super inspirational! So glad to have stumbled upon your blog. You should check out what we have going on over at http://www.thesitsgirls.com – I think you might like it!

Leave a Reply

