Bring the outdoors in

 

Source

I have always had a love for botanical drawings, especially the vintage kind. You know the one’s that look like dissected medical drawings, terribly intricate and fine. My eyes home in on them and I take a lot of inspiration from them when doing my own illustrations.

Thinking of spring and the imminent project of decorating a new flat and restoring a jungle garden I will once again be turning to this style for inspiration and creating my own little botanical corner somewhere.  

Source

 

Source

What I love most about using botanical images in interiors is the feeling of calmness you get from bringing the outdoors inside, living in the city this helps keep my pining for the country at bay.

 I came across an old copy of  World Of Interiors the other day with a feature on the artist LP Promenheurs home, he used his walls as a canvas for his beautifully fluent large-scale nature inspired motifs. The house becomes a living painting, I love the idea of one-off hand painted wall murals, shame my new flat is rented.

 

 

 

If, like me you can’t draw on your walls there are lots of beautiful posters for sale on the internet;

Source

 

This vintage botanical poster from 1947 is available on Etsy

 

This one from 1973 is a beauty, also from Etsy

 

 Slinkymalinkicat also has some beautiful prints on Etsy

 

I  love this vintage seed packet.

Leave a Reply

